Minnesota Farm Bureau Announces YF&R Contest Winners

Young farmers in Washington-Ramsey County and Wright County captured top honors in the Minnesota Farm Bureau Federation (MFBF) Young Farmers & Ranchers (YF&R) competitions.

Corey Ramsden of in Washington-Ramsey County took home first in the Discussion Meet contest, and Brad and Jenna Davis of Cokato in Wright County won the Excellence in Agriculture contest. The competitions were held during the MFBF 98th Annual Meeting at the DoubleTree in Bloomington. The meeting concluded today, November 19.

These county Farm Bureau YF&R members will advance to national competition where they will represent Minnesota at the national competition at the American Farm Bureau Federation’s (AFBF) Annual Meeting in Phoenix, January 6-11. They also received a recognition plaque from MFBF, $500 prize sponsored by Gislason & Hunter, a trip to the MFBF YF&R Conference to be held in Bemidji, February 3-4, 2016 and a leadership development trip to Washington D.C.

The 2016 AFBF YF&R contests will each have four award winners. The winner will receive their choice of either a 2017 Chevrolet Silverado or a 2017 GMC Sierra. Three finalists will each receive $2,500 cash and $500 in STIHL merchandise and a Case IH Farmall 45A tractor. Special thanks to our sponsors, General Motors, Case IH, and STIHL, for their continued support of the American Farm Bureau Young Farmers & Ranchers Contests.

Discussion Meet

The Discussion Meet finalists competed in two semi-final rounds on Saturday morning followed by the final four competition. Contestants were judged on their basic knowledge of critical farm issues and their ability to exchange ideas and information in a setting aimed at cooperative problem solving. 

Corey Ramsden took home the top honor. She is a business manager for Land O’ Lakes Inc., Winfield and Purina. Corey grew up in Massachusetts and attended the University of Minnesota Crookston, where she received degrees in Agriculture Business, Agriculture Economics and Equine Science.

Other top finalists in the Discussion Meet were Joe Sullivan of Renville County, Jared Luhman of Goodhue County and Katie Schmitt of Benton/Mille Lacs County.

 Excellence in Agriculture

The Excellence in Agriculture contest is designed as an opportunity for young farmers and ranchers who may not derive 100 percent of their income from farming to earn recognition while actively contributing to the agriculture industry and building their leadership skills through their involvement in Farm Bureau and their community. Participants were judged on their involvement in agriculture, leadership ability, involvement and participation in Farm Bureau and other organizations. 

Winning this year’s Excellence in Agriculture competition were Brad and Jenna Davis of Cokato. Brad farms together with his Dad and younger brothers raising dairy cows and growing corn, soybeans and alfalfa. Jenna is employed off the farm as an animal nutritionist. They have one son.

The MFBF 98th Annual Meeting concluded today, November 19.