Widmer Wins Regional Minnesota Farm Bureau Collegiate Discussion Meet

The Minnesota Farm Bureau Federation (MFBF) hosted a regional Collegiate Discussion Meet at South Central College (SCC) in Mankato. The competition was held Monday, November 7.

This year’s regional winner was Mitchel Widmer from New Prague in LeSueur County. He is a studying agribusiness service and management. The runner-up of the regional contest was Kristi Oberdieck from Truman in Watonwan County. She is a also studying agribusiness service and management. The Minnesota Farm Bureau Foundation sponsors a $200 scholarship for the winner and a $100 scholarship for the runner-up for each regional Collegiate Discussion Meet.

Undergraduate students in agriculture from SCC took part in the meet. Students participated in two rounds of discussion and were judged on their basic knowledge of critical farm issues and their ability to exchange ideas and information in a setting aimed at cooperative problem solving. The two topics discussed by contestants were:

  • Today’s food companies employ many tactics to gain a marketing edge. What is the purpose of food labels? How can Farm Bureau work to ensure that consumers understand the labels and have confidence in the safety and quality of their food?
  • How can we ensure that farmers and ranchers, not government agencies, are driving the management of natural resources?
Widmer and Oberdieck will advance to the state Collegiate Discussion meet to be held on Saturday, November 19 as part of the 98th MFBF Annual Meeting at the DoubleTree Hotel in Bloomington. The state winner receives an expense paid trip from the Minnesota Farm Bureau Foundation sponsored by Christensen Farms to the American Farm Bureau Federation’s (AFBF) Young Farmers & Ranchers (YF&R) Leadership Conference in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, February 10-13, 2017 to participate in the national competition. The winner also receives a $500 scholarship and the runner-up a $250 scholarship from the Minnesota Farm Bureau Foundation sponsored by Gislason & Hunter.

Other contestants included Kaden Donnay of Glencoe, Tyler Larson of Waseca, Nick Stadick of New Ulm and Joshua Clobes of Good Thunder.