Elected and Appointed Officials Address Farm Bureau Members

Farm Bureau members from Minnesota had the honor of hearing from distinguished guests at the Minnesota Farm Bureau Federation (MFBF) Annual Meeting November 19-21.

“We were very pleased to have a number of elected and appointed officials join us at Minnesota Farm Bureau’s 97th Annual Meeting,” said MFBF President Kevin Paap. “Their attendance demonstrates the importance of their connections with Farm Bureau members, and the opportunity to highlight the issues that they are working to address on our behalf.”

Congressman Walz addressed members at noon on Friday, and Congressman Peterson spoke to members on Saturday noon. Both drew attention to important issues that have been priority areas for farmers such as crop insurance and Waters of the United States (WOTUS). Senators Amy Klobuchar and Al Franken addressed Farm Bureau members at the Friday evening banquet providing Farm Bureau members with an update on crop insurance, Renewable Fuels Standard and transportation funding. 

Governor Dayton spoke to members on Saturday noon.

Meeting with Farm Bureau members at the Friday legislative reception were state Senators Gary Dahms, David Osmek, Bruce Anderson, Eric Pratt and Representatives Jeff Backer, Kelly Fenton, Ron Erhardt, Clark Johnson, Tom Hackbarth, Deb Kiel, Rod Hamilton, Jim Nash, Bob Vogel, Ben Lien, Tim Miller, Dennis Smith, Brian Johnson. Also attending Friday evening functions were representatives of the Minnesota Department of Agriculture including Commissioner Dave Frederickson.